top of page

The Transformational Power Of “YET”


Questioning Self-assumptions Have you ever played that funny fortune cookie game in which you add the words “in bed” at the end of your fortune? A good example would be: “Never do anything half way [in bed].” Lately I’ve been enjoying the encouraging, constructive and positive benefits of adding “yet” at the end of pre-conditioned, dictatorial statements about myself that used to have an inescapable finality to them. For instance, instead of saying about myself that I’m not very open to change, I’m choosing to state that I’m not very open to change yet. Adding this one word transforms the meaning and tone of the whole sentence. Suddenly I feel that, even as a woman in her late 50’s who’s possibly neurodivergent and perhaps too set in her ways for her own good, I can still change. It means that I have what it takes to keep evolving, to embrace a new approach to life, to learn how to go with the flow and let go of control. There’s hope for me yet. Yet powerfully transforms a negative statement into a positive, promising affirmation. Yet awakens awareness. Yet unleashes untapped inner potential. Yet expands self-limiting perceptions into limitless possibilities. Yet opens the door and leaves room for growth, for improvement. Yet acknowledges that there’s work to be done, rather than accepting there’s nothing that can be done. Yet means it’s not the end of the world; it’s only the beginning. Where can you add yet to your life today? © Gisele Marasca-Vargas; 07/29/21 Photo by Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash You Might Also Like: From Just Surviving to Fully Living https://thefunctionalperfe.wixsite.com/my-site/post/from-just-surviving-to-fully-living The Trouble with Making Resolution Lists https://thefunctionalperfe.wixsite.com/my-site/post/the-trouble-with-making-resolution-lists It’s Not Perfect. And It Never Will Be… https://thefunctionalperfe.wixsite.com/my-site/post/it-s-not-perfect

bottom of page